top of page
  • Writer's pictureellagrace

Paris is always a good idea


Paris has got to be one of my favourite cities in the world. Come on, its one of the world's favourite cities. Croissants to die for. Coffee way too small & expensive you'd like to die. Streets full of artists, musicians, silly cone lickers delighting in their new beret. Paris is the place to BE.


Whenever visiting a new city I try to look ahead for a few things that I know I'll enjoy. Cute cafes, ethical stores and fun places to eat are usually at the top of the list. Even though most of the time I opt out for just exploring and enjoying what I happen upon, it's always nice to have a few places I know I'll be able to relax in. And get a good coffee or smoothie too. Oh and be able to sit and journal for hours. Ha. So OF COURSE you must climb the Eiffel Tower and munch on baguettes on the bank of the Seine and wander aimlessly through the Louvre, but here are some smaller less notable places I really enjoyed and would recommend adding in between all the good tourist stops!


COFFEE, BABY


There are two types of coffee experiences in Paris. There's the speciality coffee shops with genuinely good coffee and trendy, comfortable places to chill and hang out, and then the traditional Parisian sidewalk cafes, which provide the historic experience. Ben and I prefer the first, we find they feel like neighbourhood cafes, full of locals and friends (and Ben likes his coffee made REAL GOOD), whereas the sidewalk cafes can often be loud and full of tourists. However I would definitely recommend experiencing both! Here are a few of our favourites.

  • Ob-La-Di - sweetest cafe in my favourite area, Le Marais. The owner was there when we stopped in, and we immediately felt so welcomed and comfortable. We arrived early in the morning just as they were opening and got a cosy table to play our morning hand of Rook.

  • Fragments - we loved it here - full of friendly people!

  • The Broken Arm - so cool! Also connected to a very fun high fashion clothing boutique.

  • Neighbours - Australian coffee shop!! Ben and I are huge suckers for Australian cafe's after living there for a year together.

  • Boot Cafe - located inside a former cobbler’s shop!

  • Partisan - great place to read or journal for hours!

  • Cafe de Flore - grab yourself a Cafe au Lait and sit outside and enjoy a classic Parisian cafe experience.

  • Le Consulate - probably the most photographed cafe in Paris?

As far as restaurants go, we tended to stop for a pastry and coffee so often we didn't sit down for too many meals, HOWEVER, if there is one place I wished I would have gone - It would be Pink Mama!! I only found out about it while we were there and by that point it was too late to get a reservation. It spans over 4 floors and is widely known for its decor, pops of colour and great Italian dishes! Someone please go and send me pictures. Or just take me with.



Places to shop ethically and responsibly!


  • & Other Stories (LOVE IT HERE)

  • Egyok

  • Retour Des Sens - didn't make it here but wish I had! Zero waste clothing company. Provides yoga classes too!

  • Manifeste 011


What is it that make French women so famed in the fashion world? Their timeless elegance? They seem to be always a step ahead - and always sexy. I found myself constantly observing (more like gawking over, lets be real) the Parisian fashion sighted in the streets, metros, parks, cafes - you name it. Man and woman alike, whether on a bicycle or carrying grocery bags or smoking a cigarette with coffee in hand, these people just look GOOD. My theory is because them French babes tend to not follow fast fashion trends, but instead invest in their rich history of designer brands and opt for pieces that are timeless and will last longer. Luckily a lot of the western consumerism world is slowly catching wind of slow and sustainable fashion, and will hopefully eventually create turn around outcomes for the fashion industry. Grateful to have kissed goodbye my days of bragging over cheap clothing finds and am saying hello to responsible, ethically made and sustainable pieces. Learning to become ever more aware of our beautiful environment and how my own choices directly affect it and it's inhabitants. My favourite store was definitely '& Other Stories', LOVE all their fun pieces!!


Places to stay!


I am always a sucker for airbnb or guest to guest when traveling. I have rarely slept in hotels or hostels, I always prefer to have my own homey space where I can bring home groceries and cook a comforting meal. There are SO many lovely airbnb's in Paris, at very affordable prices too! The two below are in an area called La Marais. In my opinion it is the dreamiest part of Paris. If you're here to relax, shop or drink coffee, this is the place to roam. Narrow cobblestone streets, colourful boutique storefronts with big windows full of ethical clothing, designer pieces, make up and accessories. There are lots of amazing small cafes with only a few places to sit, creating the comforting local feel. We ended up coming back here nearly every day, and next time will definitely be booking an airbnb in the area.



The rest are all spaces I saved and would like to relax in one day! I tend to draw towards the smaller, cosy, loft or studio feel.






The last link above is the airbnb Ben and I stayed in. We enjoyed our stay so much. The place has a little shared courtyard which completely blocks the noise from the lively walking street just outside the gate. Fresh bakeries, local flower shops, fresh fish, an organic grocery store, a crepe stand, all seconds away from our door! We really loved being able to pop outside and have everything on hand. I hope this provided a few spots to add to your travels, let me know if any of you are going there and would like more info on anything!! Happy travels!


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Grey Facebook Icon
bottom of page