top of page
  • Writer's pictureellagrace

Homemade Milk


Finding ways to be creative in the kitchen is so fun for me. Especially if it means making things from scratch! For my birthday this year my siblings gifted me the Almond Cow, a homemade milk maker! It can make milk in seconds, from any seed nut or grain you have in your pantry! Just add water and push a little button and you've got a full jug of homemade milk for your fridge! It is so efficient and easy to use. Being sensitive to dairy products, it's been so fun to explore and try out so many different healthy milks! Some of my favourites being: gingerbread macadamia, maple walnut, and cinnamon oat. I find oat is the most delicious in coffee - something about those flavours complement each other so well!!


There are so many perks that come along with using the Almond Cow. Firstly, it takes one more plastic out of my life, by not using milk containers bought at the grocery store! I have four of the Almond Cow's glass milk containers to store my milk in instead. Secondly, for me - I thoroughly enjoy going into bulk food stores and brining in my jars or paper bags and buying the ingredients zero waste. I like knowing I'm taking the extra step to consciously choose what I buy, where I buy it, and how it's packaged. (I am NO pro at doing this in all areas of life, but I'm trying to start!) Lastly, it's SO fun! I love adding in spices and experimenting with different natural sweeteners to make the milk unique. Also another aspect I LOVE, is that you can use the leftover ground nuts after being milked, for absolutely anything! So literally every ounce of ingredients are being used up. So far I've added the pulp into muffins or baking, or put it on top of my cereal, or even just eaten it plain by the spoonful ha! I also just found out you can spread it thinly on a baking sheet, and dry it in the oven to make flour!! The pistachio nuts from this morning's milk are currently drying as I write.


Pistachio milk has (so far!) been my favourite homemade milk I've made. I love the creamy texture and sweet flavour! Plus its freaking green, which is just fun! Pistachio milk is high in protein, antioxidants, fiber and nutrients. I use it in my baking and in my coffee, or even drink a small cup of it when I get home from the gym or hot yoga. Here's the recipe!


Pistachio Milk


1 cup raw, unsoaked pistachio's

6 pitted dates

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

dash of cinnamon or desired spices


If you'd like to get creative in your kitchen with homemade milks, use my code ELLA to get 15$ off your Almond Cow! https://almondcow.co/


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Grey Facebook Icon
bottom of page